How to Choose a Gluten-free Diet for Extreme Weight Loss

Gluten-free Diet

Gluten-free Diet

A gluten-free diet is a diet from which that gluten and its components seem to be absent. It has been discovered that there are some body systems that don’t tolerate it at all and a continuous consumption or intake may lead to celiac disease thereby making the body not to absorb food nutrients properly.

According to experts in the United States, the only treatment for the abnormalities caused by gluten consumption is total avoidance and consumption of gluten-free diet. This means to avoid it for your life.

If you are suffering from celiac disease, then the linings of your gut are likely to be damaged and the only remedy for this is that you increase your consumption of gluten-free diet which will improve your condition with the passage of time as the gut is expected to heal gradually.

What is Gluten?

Are you the type that is crazy about wheat- like foods such as bread, salad dressing, baked foods, and sauces? Then you should have a better understanding of what gluten is actually all about.

Gluten is a general name or term associated with the content of protein that is present in wheat, barley, triticale and rye. It can also be seen as the amount of protein that is available in the endosperm (the tissues of seeds used in the production of flour).

Its functions to cooks and bakers around the world cannot be overemphasized as it has been discovered to not only make foods stay glued together thereby enabling them to keep their various shapes but also, it can help them to rise and appear bigger than they ought to be.

A debate on a gluten-free diet is always been in the news nowadays because there are hundreds of foods that contain gluten and we cannot stay away from those delicious foods. Foods such as grains barley, including barley malt, bran, bulgur, farina, orzo, semolina, spelt, wheat, pasta, baked foods such as cake, bread, breadcrumbs, cupcakes, tortillas, bagels, muffins, pastries, sandwich, buns, hot dog buns, pizza, crust, pie crust, cereal made from rye, wheat, bran, and barley constitute protein which is called gluten.

For most people, wheat is the most common source of gluten. As the filler, Gluten is also used in many processed/prepackaged foods like ketchup and salad dressing. Many people try to avoid it, but true are that when you try to avoid it you eat it more.